You Can’t Drive to Hawai’i!

How did this revelation take place?

We were talking about vacations: ones we’ve taken and ones we’d like to take. Hawai’i was in the middle of the mix because family friends go nearly every year. The car reference was based on renting a car once on the island–My little one heard only part of the conversation. She thought I wanted to drive there. (D’oh!) LOL.

OK, Smartypants, if you can’t drive to Hawai’i, then how can you get there? By plane or boat, of course.

By Cole Vassiliou via WANA Commons

By Cole Vassiliou via WANA Commons

I don’t know about you and your family, but we have a how-to-travel debate often. One doesn’t want to fly. One does want to fly. Another goes cross-eyed looking at airfares for a family of four. The last cringes at the driving route across several states.

So, the thought of taking a boat to Hawai’i…. I can’t even fathom it. An expensive, long cruise on a ship in the middle of the Pacific Ocean doesn’t sound like fun to me.

My BFF has taken a few driving trips halfway across the states, crisscrossing and site seeing for weeks at a time. A different hotel every night. A different adventure everyday. If driving to Hawai’i was an option, I bet her family would do it.

Whew! I’m already tired.

So my daughter asked if we ever went to Hawai’i would we take a boat or a plane, as if there was a choice. I wiped tears of laughter off my face. Did she really ask me that?

Where do you want to travel and how would you get there? Have you already been on an adventure that included different modes of transportation? Would you ever travel that way again?

8 thoughts on “You Can’t Drive to Hawai’i!

  1. kinleybaker

    I love the idea of a long cruise to Hawaii! Consider me happy on the water. Of course, my husband would rather not go on vacation at all than be out in the middle of the ocean.

    Sounds tough to organize with everyone! We struggle with just two people. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. Diana Beebe Post author

      I have to agree with your husband. I don’t know why the idea of being out on the ocean doesn’t sit well with me, because I do love the water. *shrug* It’s always an adventure planning, even the quick trips to visit family.

      Reply
  2. Janet Givens

    What a fun post. For me, I go by train whenever I can. Unfortunately, that’s not a lot of places. My car is second in preference. Plane is last of all, somewhere behind camel: I feel either like a sardine packed in way too tightly, or a sheep, herded around at the pleasure of the airline. Taking off my shoes was just the final straw.

    Reply
    1. Diana Beebe Post author

      By camel must be quite an experience! I bet you have to pack lightly.

      I’m not too fond of the shoe removal thing either. I wear crazy socks now to make it fun. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  3. Debbie Janssen

    I would absolutely drive all the way to Hawai’i and back! If there was a road we would drive it :). Driving forces you to stop and smell the roses (or is it the antsy kids in the back seat). Either way driving is the best way to go unless you don’t have the time. Then climb aboard that airplane, just make sure you have slip on shoes for everyone in your party. I hate the all night drive or anything longer than 6 hours at a time. To drive across the country you have to take your time and see all you can see. Flying over the Grand Canyon isn’t nearly as fun as driving around it! Someday I’ll even hike down into it.

    Reply
    1. Diana Beebe Post author

      So when you put it that way, it sounds incredible and fun and perfect! Our road trips are often about how long we can go without stopping–unless there is an interesting historical marker to read. No, I usually read those online as we drive passed. LOL. We must do it your way sometime!

      Reply
  4. Julie Glover

    This just makes me think of how different my in-laws were on this point. They took the car (or RV) and scenic route whenever possible. I would have gone crazy on those trips. Me? I’m a quickest-route-from-point-A-to-point-B gal! As soon as they perfect teleportation, that will trump plane, boat, and car for me. Beam me to Hawaii, Scottie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

