Dream Cars and Drool…

The other day, I sat in my dream car. Sigh. Motor Trend’s Car of the Year.

Telsa Motors Model S.

The sleek lines, the amazing interior, the very cool door handles (they are flat against the door until you touch them). I had to restrain myself from flailing my arms in excitement. The screen behind the car says, “My eyes were wide and my jaw has dropped.” Sums it up nicely. Except for one thing…

Diana BeebeThe salesman in the showroom approached us. Here’s our conversation:
Sales guy: Do you have any questions?
Me: No, I’m just drooling.
Sales guy: *Puzzled look* then *hearty laughter* That is the best answer I’ve heard ever!
Husband: Get the girls through college first.

Kill joy.

I left the Santana Row Tesla Motors Design Studio willingly and with most of my dignity intact, much to my husband’s relief. I’m sure he had visions of my hanging onto the sleek, beautiful hood and clinging to it with desparation while begging for the sedan to return my love.

Ahem. Moving on while I have a shred of dignity left…

At dinner that night, a friend told us how he’d just gotten the delivery date for his own Model S.  We’d planned our visit too early.  I wouldn’t get to drive it.  *pout*

Could I invite myself back on the day he gets his beautiful, sleek Model S, so I could drive it?  And maybe pull a couple of fuses.  You must watch the video toward the bottom of the article.

My friend sent me that link with the note “For your drooling pleasure.”  I have it bad, don’t I?  Truthfully, I would be terrified to drive the car in that manner.

It reminded me of when I drove the Tesla Motors Roadster.

As if that’s not bad enough Tesla Motors also has the Model X. The ultimate crossover with the coolest doors ever.  My seven-year-old hopes that I’ll get that one so she can drive it someday.  Keep dreaming, kiddo.  You will not be parking that in a high school student parking lot.

I’ll keep dreaming, too.  I’ll try not to drool.  No promises.

What’s your dream car?  Have you ever owned your dream car?  What feature do you love about cars?

23 thoughts on “Dream Cars and Drool…

  1. darcyflynn

    That’s a tough one, it would be a 1957 red Chevy truck or a classic mustang convertible. No clue what year…somewhere in the late 50’s or early 60’s I’m thinking. But my husband is driving his dream car. It’s an Audi R8! Just like the one Tony Stark drives in Iron Man! Silver with black wings on the doors. Sweet!

    Reply
    1. Diana Beebe Post author

      Good choices, Joy! Both the truck and the Mustang (1966, maybe) are great! That Audi R8 is gorgeous, too. Does your husband feel a little bit like Tony Stark when he drives it? 🙂

      Reply
  2. Brother

    I just got a car I’ve been thinking about for about four years. A Kia Soul in dark (“Moss”) green. It’s brand new and still smelly! It’s a box car but still stylish and has crazy good acceleration! Ok, it’s not the Tesla anything, but I wanted stylish and practical and this was perfect. I’ve endured the “hamster” references for the last few days with style and grace and have to say that it’s one of the best car purchases I’ve made. If I win the lottery, I’ll buy you one – top of the line! (I’ll have to buy a lottery ticket first, but I’ve got your back if I win!) ❤

    Reply
    1. Diana Beebe Post author

      Congratulations on the new car. I love that color–at least it’s not the bright neon green that the hamsters drove! The smell of a new car is delicious, isn’t it? So, if you buy a lottery ticket and win, you’ll buy be a top of the line Telsa Motors Model S?! (Yes, that’s how I’m reading what you wrote.) You are the best, penultimate brother ever! ❤

      Reply
  3. Angela Wallace

    I used to want a Rav 4, but I like the Corolla I have and I never want it to die. I drove a newer model as a rental a couple years ago and hated it. Oh, and any car I ever own must be a shiny color. No black, gray, white, or beige. COLOR.

    Reply
    1. Diana Beebe Post author

      Isn’t crazy when a car changes so much that it doesn’t work for you anymore? I drove a beige minivan for a decade. I prefer to think of it as gold. LOL. I don’t like the new versions of my old van–ugly.

      Reply
  4. Gilliad Stern

    My dream car falls in at a Nissan GTR. I used to love the old Skyline models (even though they were only sold in the US with added changes at the port). I think the new model is amazing but I’ll have to make much more then I am now to be able to afford it.

    Reply
  5. Janet Givens

    Wow, you know so much about cars. I’m afraid I am way out of your league. But, I do have a story about my dream car, the one I’m driving now, the one I ordered on line while sitting in my living room in Kazakhstan. (If my book were ready for sale I’d plug it here; but, alas). The dealer even gave me a $500 Peace Corps discount even though he said no dealer gave discounts on any Prius. Yes, I drive a 2006 red Prius. It now has over 150,000 miles on it and is going strong. I’m debating whether to hold onto it till it reaches 300,000 (my dealer here in VT has one with 325,000 miles) or trade it in for one with the sun roof that doubles as a solar panel that keeps the parked car cool in the summer parking lot sun. Now that is a dream car! (btw, I get 48 mpg, even here in Vermont with all our hills). I used to get 53 mpg, but it’s gone down as the % of ethanol in our gas tanks increases. Ironic, to say the least.

    Thanks for a fun post Diana. Gave me a glimpse into a whole other life. . . . . [and then she actually clicked on the Car of the Year link] . . . .

    I had no idea there was even such a company. Never heard of Tesla. Where have I been? And an all-electric car at that. 90+ mpg. Wow! ‘Course the sticker price would absorb two of my ….. What is the plural of Prius?

    Reply
    1. Diana Beebe Post author

      I know enough about cars to get me into trouble. LOL. You can see what I would love to have after college is paid for. (A girl can dream!)

      On the more practical side, I’ve actually considered a Prius because a couple of my friends have them and adore them. The Ford Fusion looks even better to me because it is a bit bigger. However, I didn’t know about the solar panel that keeps the car cool. That would be very nice in the crazy summer heat we get here in Texas.

      The first time I heard about Telsa Motors, I loved what they were doing–even though the cars are out of reach. 😉

      What is the plural of Prius? Prii? Priuses? How about “more than one Prius” or “two Prius cars”?

      Reply
  6. Pauline Baird Jones

    Well, I told you on twitter, I like my old, vanilla Ford truck. But I don’t get out much. I’ve had it four years? I think? and it has 13,000 miles on it. Most of them in the last year, since my son moved closer. LOL!

    Reply
  7. L. Palmer

    My dream car is a spaceship. At this point, I love my car. It’s nothing fancy, but it looks and sounds a little like a spaceship. I drive a sparkly blue Honda Fit, which includes great acceleration (for a 4 cylinder engine), seats that transform into storage in 2 ways, and good leg room for the many people I give rides to. A sleek, new Tesla would be cool, but, for my price range, I’m good.

    Reply
    1. Diana Beebe Post author

      A spaceship sounds great! Did you hear about the cars that are supposed to drive themselves? That’s getting pretty close. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Reply
  8. lynettemburrows

    A teal-blue 1994 Acura Integra two door sports coupe with moon roof and rear spoiler. Loved that car. Had it ten years and less than 30,000 miles on it. (I live 3 miles from work and it’s NOT the vehicle you want to take long trips in unless you’re single and don’t need much luggage). It accelerated like nothing I’ve had before or since, rode quiet and pretty darn smooth for having so little ground clearance, had a great stereo that I could crank up to ear-splitting decibels and crank open the moon roof — ah, those were the days. 🙂 Course, had younger knees back then. 🙂

    Reply
  9. Debra Kristi

    I used to dream about various cars. Now I very happy with the car I have now. It fits all my needs, plus it has seat warmers, steering wheel warmer, automatic lights, wipers, and auto adjust mirrors when I put the thing in reverse. And I can’t forget about all the televisions that help with my rear view and the kids’ entertainment over long drives. I hope that baby keeps going and going, like the energizer bunny. My first car was a ’62 skylark. I hated it when my father made me take that car for my own, but I grew to love it. I think your knowledge of cars is fantastic.

    Reply
    1. Diana Beebe Post author

      I love my heated seats! How did we ever make it through winter without them?

      OK, so, your first car was awesome! I might be worried about you if you didn’t say you grew to love it. LOL. My first car was a little P.O.S. and nothing special–I was so happy to have it that I didn’t care, except when it chose to stall when I was driving on highways. It did that a lot.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

